Samuel French is thrilled to announce that Ken Ludwig, Dominique Morisseau, and the writing team of Chris Miller & Nathan Tysen will be honored at the second annual Samuel French Awards.  Created to acknowledge the great work and unparalleled passion of theatre artists, as well as applaud their significant contributions to the industry, the Awards will be presented in a private ceremony on Monday, October 16, 2017.

“Samuel French has a tradition of proudly celebrating those who make theatre happen,” said Nathan Collins, President of Samuel French.  “We are thrilled to acknowledge the work of Ken, Dominique, Chris, and Nathan with the Samuel French Awards this year. Each of their contributions to the theatre have made a direct impact on artists, students, and audiences across the country.  We are pleased to recognize their talents and roles in our community.”

Emily Mann, Artistic Director of McCarter Theatre Center, will present Ludwig the Award for Sustained Excellence in American Theatre, which is bestowed upon a Samuel French playwright, composer, or lyricist whose body of work has been successfully produced across the nation, at both amateur and professional levels.

Kamilah Forbes, Executive Producer of the Apollo Theater, will present Morisseau the Award for Impact & Activism in the Theatre Community, given to an individual or creative team who has significantly impacted the theatre community over the past year through their activism.

Composer, producer, and activist, Jeanine Tesori, will present Miller & Tysen the Next Step Award, which supports a playwright, composer, or lyricist working toward the next step of their career. Honorees have demonstrated a strong energy and talent in their career thus far.  The award offers support for a current or unfinished project with a monetary prize.

In addition to physical awards presented to all recipients, honorees of the Award for Sustained Excellence in American Theatre and Award for Impact & Activism each select a theater or program to which Samuel French makes a donation on their behalf.  Ludwig has selected the McCarter Theatre Center, and Morisseau has chosen the Detroit Public Theatre.  Previous honorees include Sarah Ruhl, Keith Josef Adkins and Michael Kooman & Christopher Dimond.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email