A New Brain fans, prepare yourselves: The well-reviewed City Center Encores! Off-Center staging of William Finn and James Lapine’s A New Brain, which starred Jonathan Groff, Ana Gasteyer, Dan Fogler and Aaron Lazar, will be recorded by PS Classics.

The cast featured Groff (Hamilton, Spring Awakening) as a promising young composer struck down by illness alongside Fogler (The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee), Gasteyer (“Saturday Night Live”) and Lazar (A Little Night Music, The Light in the Piazza). The cast also included Jenni Barber, Quentin Earl Darrington, Bradley Dean, Josh Lamon, Alyse Alan Louis and Rema Webb.

Broadway producer and New York City Center board co-chair Stacey Mindich is funding the recording.

Track listing follows:

Disc One:
Prologue: Frogs Have So Much Spring (“The Spring Song”)
Prologue: 911 Emergency/I Have So Many Songs
Heart and Music
Mother’s Gonna Make Things Fine
Trouble in His Brain
Be Polite to Everyone
I’d Rather Be Sailing
Family History
Gordo’s Law of Genetics
And They’re Off
Roger Arrives
Just Go
MRI Tomorrow
Poor, Unsuccessful and Fat
Sitting Becalmed in the Lee of Cuttyhunk

Disc Two:
An Invitation to Sleep in My Arms
In the Middle of the Room (Part 1)
Throw It Out
In the Middle of the Room (Part 2)
A Really Lousy Day in the Universe
Brain Dead
The Music Still Plays On
Don’t Give In
Craniotomy (reprise)
You Boys Are Gonna Get Me in Such Trouble
I’d Rather Be Sailing (reprise)
The Homeless Lady’s Revenge
Time and Music
I Feel So Much Spring

Print Friendly, PDF & Email